Maserati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need a new set of tires for my 04 Spyder. Its the GT model. Has the skyhook suspension and other goodies.

My question for the experts amongst us is...What are the best tires for this model? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
227 Posts
(opening can of worms)
I'm no expert but I am enjoying the Goodyears. Great price, good looking tread pattern. Not as soft or expensive as the Pirellis, but I'm hoping for more tread life. Pirellis only 6k miles.

·
Registered
1,419 Posts
Beating the dead horse :]

Michellin PS Tires...

By far the best. And they are available at costco for about a hundred less!

·
Registered
722 Posts
PS2, P Zero, F1 GS-D3 generally get the best reviews. The GS-D3 can pick up more gravel than the other two, but may have better hydroplaning resistance, if that's an issue.

RE050's are not bad but heavy.

I have P0 Rosso now, but these are almost all-season tires and so score lower than the above. I'll try PS2 next, but I want to go +10mm width, so Costco is out for me. I'll try tirerack.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks much for the quick advice. Sounds like either the Goodyears or the ps2 would be good choices.

I tore up one of my rears today, so I will make the decision in the am and get it back on the road.

Very cool to get this feedback from other owners.

·
Registered
455 Posts
The local tire dealer was recommending a Nokian NRY. Anyone ever hear of these.
Tire Dealers like to sell brands that pay the best and ones that arent moving as quickly as preferred.

Not all, but thats my opinion based on a few lessons learned when I was a youngster.

·
Registered
793 Posts
I would go with Michelins.

Most Goodyear tires have been made by Michelin, yes Michelin, but the tread is different as is the style.

PS2's are a great tire.

·
Registered
227 Posts