Maserati Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am a newbie here. So I have been told to stay away from anything older than a '07. Is that true? What are the major service issues? What if you stay away from the duo trans? Does it matter? Although I am a sports car enthusiast, I'm not sure I see the benefit of the duo for what I am looking to do with the car. I just want a weekend cruiser and something to head out to dinner in. If I want to go fast, I have something else for that. I have heard that the clutches are prone to go bad often....what do you think guys? Anybody looking for a sweet A8?

Thanks,

Chad

·
Registered
340 Posts
There are a number of threads on this subject along with a list of things to look for when buying a used car.

The clutches usually don't "go bad", they wear out. Clutch life on any of the duo-select QPs is 15-20k miles on average. You will avoid having to replace the clutch on an automatic transmission but you will still need to deal with scheduled maintenance, tires and brakes which are all expensive as well.

The cars are really fun to drive but expensive to maintain.

·
Registered
1,769 Posts
In general, don't buy anything older than a 4200 Coupe/Spider (2004?), everything older was made back when Maserati wasn't joined with Ferrari and they didn't have the new manufacturing plant, which means it was "hand made" and the quality is as bad as it gets (the local service once told me that they made their wages from those cars :D) and its true.

You shouldn't have a problem with the QP, as long as you understand that running costs are very high (higher than other cars, like an AUDI for example).

·
Registered
325 Posts
Qp What Year To Buy

Maserati Blue Probably Never Owned An Audi To Verify The Maintenace Costs I Have 2 Audis Now And 3 Masers!

06 Qp Sport
06 Gs Spyder
06 Gs Coupe Incoming Today

·
Registered
1,769 Posts