Maserati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If I have no intention of tracking my Coupe, why is Skyhook a must have option ?

I'm ready to pull the trigger on my first Maserati, a low mileage '02 - it does not have Skyhook but is otherwise a clean car at a great price. The only thing holding me back is all the commentary about Skyhook being a must have.
I'm an aggressive driver and love handling in winding roads - currently driving a '99 911 and have found that generally, on long drives or even as a daily driver, it's tiring after a while and would like something slightly more 'forgiving' on the organs.

Comments please - do not want to buy a non-skyhook and be sorry.

Thanks

RMB

·
Registered
329 Posts
I participate in drives with a few other Maserati owners and a few of them have upgraded springs/shocks, etc (Look for other threads on this site).
Needless to say they can out corner my stock '02 Coupe with Skyhook.

Since I am not really an aggressive driver, the upgrades are not of any real interest - to me. Although I do appreciate the benefits.....

I would focus on the history of the car; care and upkeep are my priorities and the upgrades can come in time.

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. So, If I'm reading you and the other threads correctly, Skyhook, when on, lowers the car and stiffens the suspension for better cornering and sharper handling - otherwise, the ride is more compliant.

Then, is the non-Skyhook cars the same or similar to the Skyhook cars with it turned off ? And, if so, then by going aftermarket on non-Skyhook cars, I can effectively achieve the same thing ?

Correct or am I missing something.

Thanks again.

P.S. the Coupe is a 2002 silver/gray w/ 24k, 2 owner, 6 speed with clean carfax - traded to the dealer for a new 5 series.

Any comparisons to the '99 996-911 C2 I have now ?

·
Registered
528 Posts