·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
HERES THE CAR
Autotrader - page unavailable

Shortened link: Autotrader - page unavailable

I'm new here, small bio:
I'm a 5-year technician and not afraid to get dirty. I just finished flipping a Genesis Coupe, had to disassemble the entire suspension, and lower the drive train to get those f*king subframe mounts pressed in. There's almost no doubt that I could get it done, as it'll be a project car and I've got plenty of time in COVID

Here's the story:
Supposedly, the keys were lost and the rich owner left it parked on his lot. Never moved since then. His assistant is selling it, and they just want it gone.

Here's why I believe it:
Called up Maserati San Diego, the onboard computer must be replaced if the keys are lost and the car is locked. Including the key, reprogramming, and computer, it's 2000$ just in parts. The car has a yellow tag sticker which means it MUST be from 2015. Makes sense, the post claims it's been sitting for 7 years.

Now here's the thing:
It's been sitting. For a very long time.

I won't be able to start it before buying, as I need the title to order the keys.

What should I be looking for during the inspection?
(rust, fluid integrity and levels, quality of rubber hoses, leaks) anything else?

What is the proper maintenance to be done before starting her up for the first time?
(Cylinder fog, starting fluid???, new spark plugs, change out the gas, flush the old gas through injectors) anything else?

Does anyone have a paint guy?
(or even a wrap for that matter)

How generally reliable is the 4200?
(it is exotic, but I've seen some of these going over 100,000!!)
How generally reliable is the Duo-Matic?
Looks like the entire internet hates it. What say you forum wisards?

Does anyone have useful links for aftermarket parts?
It seems a large majority of parts will have to come from the scrap or the dealer... true?

Does anyone have aftermarket working keys? (dealer wants $750 for a KEY)