Maserati Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This weekend when installing the FD brake pads, I noticed that my rear tires were not showing a whole lot of tread remaining in the center of the tire....there is just ever slightly some tread left before the wear bars start showing. The inside and outside edges however, still look great. The front tires are still in great shape (dealer replaced them when I purchased).

My question is, should I replace the rears before I track the car at Pocono or, do it afterward? What do they look for during the tech inspection with respect to tire tread?

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
4,261 Posts
I am no expert Vincenzo but I wouldn't want to go on a track with rear tires that are almost done.

It may actually be worth getting a set of racing tires if you plan to hit a few track events a year.

·
Registered
518 Posts
You are fine at the wear bars on the tire for a track event...remember most auto x and track guys shave thier tires to 3/32 (which is the wearbar depth) for track usage anyway

secondly check your tire pressures a worn center with deep tread on both sides is a dead giveaway for overinflation

·
Registered
824 Posts
If you take brand new full depth tires to the track they will wind up overheating and chunking (if you push it, which you will).

If you take worn tires, then (depending on where you live) you run the risk of hitting wet weather. I am fine taking worn tires to a track day if it is dry.

I usually wind up replacing my tires AFTER track days.

·
Vendor
4,728 Posts
Reduce your tire pressure if you're getting too much wear down the center. The tire is ballooning out in the middle.

Try 36psi ( although tire models are a bit different, this is a starting point ).