Maserati Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Gransport LE
662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
paint vs powder coat on ? UPDATE

OEM 15 spoke 18's - opinions as I weigh my options ?

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
I think it's a matter of looks vs. strength. I would get it painted even if I had to get it touched up once in a while. I'm all for thr looks!

·
Registered
246 Posts
Not sure if what I have is powder coating, or some other high tech solution, but it definitely isn't paint. It has held up for 5 years. It is called Permastar, and the 'coating' I have on my seven spoke OEM wheels is a "Black Pearl" finish which is awesome.
The company here in Northern Calif that gets it done is Pacific Rims in Pittsburg.
May be the best tradeoff between powder coating and paint, but I am not an expert on the chemistry, just the results.
Mike

Most powder coat breaks down under UV light. Therefore, you would want to avoid extended sunlight exposure (ie parking the car outside as opposed to being garaged) for long periods of time.

I say get them painted.

Rgds...

- John in DC

·
Registered
339 Posts
don't do it

search my previous posts on here and Ferrarilife for details on your wheels.

Your stock wheels are powder coating like process from BBS. They are heat treated wheels and the final stage of the heat treating process is a baking on of the clear coat finish (thicker than paint yet still sprayed on wet, almost a hybrid of the two processes).