Maserati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All:

Newbie here, so please be gentle. I've sold my Lotus Esprit V8 to appease my family and am going to one car (unloading my Audi A8 too). The front runner is a Maserati coupe due to performance and the ability to actually fit adults in the rear seats. I don't have passengers often, but it's nice to know one can do it with the coupe. A novel idea!

I'm looking at several coupes and know enough just to be dangerous to myself. Were there any major changes between the introduction of the current coupe (2002 or 2003 not sure of intro date) and the 2006 coupe at the local dealer? If there is somewhere I can access a "Buyer's Guide" to note the differences (if any) I'd appreciate it. Of course, any input from experienced owners would be fantastic.

Some palnned upgrades if/when I buy:
Tubi, Ansa or Mille Miglia exhaust
19" wheels from a Grand Sport, maybe aftermarket (conservatively tasteful)
Grand Sport front spoiler and maybe the rear trunk lip (color matched to car)
Any ECU or transmission upgrade to improve drivability (if necessary)
I love the MC Victory seats too (but not in blue - SOL here I bet)
Aluminum pedals and some tasteful carbon fiber accents

It looks like the major service(wear) item is the cambricorsa clutch which may well be every 15-24 months with my mileage and presumed driving style. I've read extensively on the "Do's an Don't Do's" with regard to said clutch.

What I truly want to know is the ability to bring say a 2002-2004 up to 2006 specs if there were programming changes to the ECU (more power!), transmission programs, etc. Again any help is much appreciated. Feel free to call me with advice at (314) 889-0572.

Thanks in advance and Happy Motoring!

Mark "Feff" Pfeffer

·
Registered
191 Posts
Differences between 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, and 2006 model years