Maserati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd just like to know how difficult it would be to pull off some of the common repairs on our cars. Clutch Replacement and F1 pump to pick out 2 issues that concern me. I figured having the differential in the rear would make it that much easier.

I'm a fairly skilled mechanic I've done a couple engine swaps in Jaguars, transmissions ans clutches in GMs, etc. So I'd just like to know how tough this might be and how much the dealer is getting over because $350 for an oil is rediculous when its no big difference from my XKR.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
nomorejags said:
I'd just like to know how difficult it would be to pull off some of the common repairs on our cars. Clutch Replacement and F1 pump to pick out 2 issues that concern me. I figured having the differential in the rear would make it that much easier.

I'm a fairly skilled mechanic I've done a couple engine swaps in Jaguars, transmissions ans clutches in GMs, etc. So I'd just like to know how tough this might be and how much the dealer is getting over because $350 for an oil is rediculous when its no big difference from my XKR.

Thanks
Removing the clutch is no big deal. It's when you get into the custom software required to balance (i.e add weights) and reset the clutch wear and warning eletronics. The car is so tied into the computer that you would piss it off doing just a replacement without resetting it. I've been down this path and have a copy of the shop manual. It'll scare the crap out of you once you realize how much the computer controls everything. There's actually a procedure where the PC starts the motor and runs the revs up during the balancing while the car is on the lift. Then again, if you don't care about the balancing procedure or clutch wear indicator, go for it ;)

·
Registered
431 Posts
clutch