Maserati Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! So long story short, I have been agonizing over a super clean 87 biturbo Si for nigh on 6 months now and what I think my brain needs is advice/confirmation from the experts. I have seen a few people use them as daily drivers, which I know is generally a terrible idea...but I can't get the idea out of my head. I have seen a number of posts and forums talking about reliability upgrades and quality of life fixes and parts workarounds etc. But the thing is, were I to do all of that stuff, would it even stop the car from breaking down on the side of the road every other week? I work 45 hours a week and plan on going back to school so there wouldn't be a ton of time left over for tinkering with or using the car as a hobby/toy. Even then, I've never owned a Maser so I'd be learning a lot as I go. On top of that, the only shop I found that has experience working on biturbo's in my area refuses to work on them any more. They have "outlived their service intervals". If I were to buy this it would be driven every day 6 days a week 40 miles a day. Is this vehicle as a daily as stupid as I think it is? Any help to answer this question will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for bearing with me. I look forewards to your responses

·
Premium Member
989 Posts
You need to:
1. Have a dedicated place to repair your car, or have an experienced tech and money to fix it.
2. Prepare for breakdowns.

These are typical expectations of any older, mid-'80s, early '90s car. The fact that it is a Maserati manufactured during a tough time for the marque, coupled with the fact that the car already has with it a reputation of unreliability, should be all the information you need to make the right decision.

My opinion? Buy it.

·
Registered
1 Posts