Maserati Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had a great time at an annual Ferrari-Maserati track day hosted by one of the great dealerships in our area. Attached are some pics showing some of the action.

A couple thoughts on the Maserati's performance:

1) I am an intermediate to expert driver. Only an expert driver in a 355 could keep up with me, and eventually passed me. The Maserati held it's own with 355's and equally talented drivers. I was able to pull 355's in the corners, but lost ground on long straights.

2) Again, it's was driver talent which separated the 360's from the 355's and the Maser's. With the right driver, the 360's were very fast.. I had no hope of keeping up. Luckily many 360's had less aggressive pilots than I.

3) Substantial body roll on the Maser. You may be able to tell from one of the corner pics. If not, I have a short Mpeg I'm finishing up which shows video footage of a 355, 360, and me on the last turn at Waterford, and you can see how flat the Ferrari's are compared to my Maser (I had skyhook on in sport mode). Consider though that with the body roll, heated seats, and headlight washers I was still able to keep up with all but 2 355's and a few 360's that were in very capable hands.

4) I found the traction control a bit too aggressive for the track on dry pavement, but it did save some morning trouble when my early desire for fast lap times exceeded my understanding of the track. Had traction control off most of the day. Interesting epiphony (sp?) I had in the car with traction control on. I was going way too fast into a corner and was standing on the brakes, then I went quickly to full throttle coming out of the tight right turn. Let's play this out in any of my old cars, and for this example let's assume it's the Viper: