Maserati Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok Ty much I have a question though a lot of the threads I have read said 170 180 but no real confirmation that it was just for the Maserati gt as they mentioned the Ferrari 4.2 in the same conversation I know it is built bye Ferrari now but I’m not sure if they had higher psi in Ferrari models

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am asking all this as I had a hose burst in the rear from head to head the rear cooling hoose and after replaceing and getting full pressure back I noticed oil in my rad reservoir but no overheating as I have grown up working on cars and I am a Industral mechanic millwright I wanted to jump into this head first and get to the bottom of it and find out if it really is the heat exchanger under the intake or a head gasket

·
Registered
650 Posts
Brief comment re compr testing (versus cylinder leakdown testing).

i) the relative speed and energy of the needle in getting to its, say, five-hits compression value seems to make a difference, per my experience; and

ii) cylinder leakdown tests if done properly (with piston rings sitting on the bottom piston ring "lands") can tell a somewhat different story about engine health. I prefer to do both tests. Also the brand- and orifice size... and the appropriate test pressure to use - all need to be considered. Finally, you really should calculate, manually, the % leakdown values.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Ty much J do you have any insight to my next inquiry