Maserati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is the clutch as sensitive on a 6 speed as it is on the F1 version ? Wondering what is better to get for driving around the city. I would drive mine 80% in the city. Also, is the 6 speed less sensitive to maintenance ?
Thanks

·
Registered
160 Posts
Fighting Starfish said:
Is the clutch as sensitive on a 6 speed as it is on the F1 version ? Wondering what is better to get for driving around the city. I would drive mine 80% in the city. Also, is the 6 speed less sensitive to maintenance ?
I just took delivery of one of these strip-down version 6 speed GT, I will be mainly driving in the city too (50%) and up and down the streets of SF. I have been driving stick shift for 15+ years, beofre automatic, so getting back into the 6-speed GT is not a problem for me. For me, driving in the SF is not fun anyway, we have terrible streets here, however, it's a small city, within 15 min, you could get to most places in the city quickly so it really doesn't matter too much. Everyone I talk to in Maserati said 6-speed is better for the clutch and you don't have the F1 pump to worry about too.

Since Maserati have taken out launch control in the US, it's much more fun doing a standing start with 6-speed manual.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
dchao said:
Everyone I talk to in Maserati said 6-speed is better for the clutch and you don't have the F1 pump to worry about too.
yep, was thinking about the F1 pump problem too. I guess a GT would eliminate this issue as well.
Now how about the value loss between a GT and CC ? Should I be able to get the GT for a lot less then the same year / mileage CC model ?
Thanks

·
Registered
160 Posts
Dolle Dolf said:
The GT is rarer. Expect to pay at least the same.