Maserati Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any comments from the people "in the know" about the CD article that placed the Maserati third, behind BMW and Mercedes?

·
Registered
252 Posts
You should never put much into those head to head comparisons that Car&Driver or any of those other mags do. The way they determine 1st, 2nd and so on is based on points from many categories. They use things like price, gas mileage, trunk space and things like that which might not be the most important thing you are looking for in a car. Best thing to do is know your priorities on a car you want and just look how those features stack up head to head

·
Registered
49 Posts
I have a subscription to C&D and R&T and I haven't seen any such comparo - I usually get the latest issues pretty quickly. Maybe this time is different though...

It wouldn't surprise me if either mag rated the Maser last, they usually pan the cars I love and vice versa. They are almost a contrarian indicator for me. Pretty pictures though...

·
Registered
46 Posts
C and D

The three cars finished 1 point apart - hardly a decisive win for any car. The Mercedes is faster and more refined and probably deserved the win. The BMW is very refined but not as sporty. It is hard to disagree with their reasons but I still wouldn't trade my Cambiocorsa for either the BMW or the Mercedes.

·
Registered
455 Posts
Hello everyone, I just found this website and think its great!

I'm planning on purchasing a Maserati when the lease on my jag. comes due in about 5 months.

The C&D article rated the Maserati 3rd, but after removing the one characteristic that shouldnt be a factor: "gas milage" you will find a different outcome. I tossed the magazine, so Im not 100% sure, but I belive the Maserati would come in 2nd behind the Porsche, but barely shy of 1st place.

I think the article should have noted that such an inconsequential factor changed the results.

Greg

·
Registered
455 Posts