Maserati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm a newbie here so apologies if this has been asked before...
I've been looking for a new car for ages; considered Jag, Porsche and Merc but have now decided to go for a Coupe (or Spyder). Having test driven a car I can't understand why I went through all that indecision!

I understand that the factory keep improving the software controlling the Cambiocorsa gearbox and have improved it significantly since it came out. If so, is it possible to get the software on an older car ('04 model) updated to the latest version?

Or was that a really stupid question:)

Any advice/hints on which options to look for in a car and any other tips gratefully appreciated!!

·
Registered
88 Posts
Yeah They do do that

You just have to ask the dealer to upgrade the software for you because all they do is flash the ECU, I ve asked before and they said yes they can do that.

If your getting an older model, make sure you get the car equipped with the Skyhook suspension, thats the only thing that enhances the driveability of the cars. All the other options are just cosmetic.

I have an 06 Gransport fully loaded

·
Registered
242 Posts
hmbgransport said:
If your getting an older model, make sure you get the car equipped with the Skyhook suspension, thats the only thing that enhances the driveability of the cars. All the other options are just cosmetic.
Personally I would not get the Skyhook if I had to do it again. Thats because the with the "sport" button off the car rides WAY too soft. With the button on during spirited driving the suspension is at about the same tightness as the non-Skyhook cars. The only advantage to Skyhook is that you can lower the car without having to spend a couple of thousand on aftermarket shocks. For a proper track car, get a non-skyhook and lower the car and tune the suspension with an aftermarket kit.

·
Registered
242 Posts