Maserati Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to buy my first Maserati, a second hand 2006 Gransport in black (fastest color, right?). The car is in perfect condition, the owner had it as a third car and only has a few thousand kilometres and he is selling it due to the recent financial problems.

Even though this is my first Maserati, i've had limited experience with them from two close friends who own a Gibli and a QP. Both say the worst things about reliability and customer support from their dealers, one finally had to sell his and got a porsche (ugly car, but reliable i guess).

Anyway, i don't know what i'm getting myself into, but i do love this car and i'm willing to go through hell to own it for years to come... (uh oh..)

So here i am... i've got a couple of questions:

1) I've searched the forum, read lots of interesting posts and very helpful information on what to look for when buying second hand (http://www.maseratilife.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2875), thank you all for the information you provide. (yeah i know this is not a question...)

2) The post above mentions that i should use the VIN number to get service records and also to check CarFax. Are these things possible across European countries? What happens if i by the car from Germany and import it to Spain? Will my local dealer be able to help me?

3) The article also mentions software upgrades (example, for the transmission). How can i check these software upgrades?

4) I know the GS doesn't have the Infotainment system that comes with the Coupe, but i've been wondering if it supports Bluetooth phones by default or if its an "extra", anyone knows?

5) Anything else i should know about? things i should be careful about?

·
5,887 Posts