Possible Scam - Maserati Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 06-03-2013, 03:27 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Maserati Life Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Possible Scam

Hello Everyone,

I am an admirer of Maserati, and I recently noticed this advertisement -
2008 MASERATI GranTurismo Coupe

Of course, the ridiculously low price is suspicious, but I'm the curious type, so I inquired about the car and the low price. This is a recent e-mail that I received from a Mr. Larry Feldman, which is suspicious -

The reason why I'm selling it is a divorced settlement.....I must share everything with my ex.
I am very mad on this situation but I don't have any options...
I don't want to sell it at the real price because my wife will be awarded most of the money,
the lower the sticker price,the less i have to give to her, got it?

I am recently moved because of my divorce, at my residence house in North Palm Beach, FL and the car is here as well.
I propose to close the deal through Google Checkout, in the most transparent and easiest way possible for both of us.
You can read more about Google Checkout on https://sites.google.com/site/appsverify

In this deal your advantage is ( before to make any payment to me )
-You can see and test drive the car anywhere. -You can go at dealership to check the car.
-You will have five days to inspect the car at your home.-You will receive the car in no more than 2-3 days.
-The clear title and the bill of sale will both be signed and they will be shipped together with the car.

Basically, it's similar to buying a car locally, the money will be sent to their holding account, and they will keep the money until you will receive the car.
After they inform me that they have secured your payment into their account, I'll deliver the car to your address and pay the shipping myself.
After you will test drive it, inspect it for 5 days and decide to keep it, they will forward the money to me once you have approved them to do so.
If you won't like or if it is not as advertised, which I can assure you it won't be the case because it's a state of the art vehicle, the car will be
returned to me at my expense and you get full refund from Google Checkout.

I will only require a refundable downpayment of $2,000 (in held by Google Checkout till you receive and inspect the vehicle) and the
remainder of the balance upon the inspection period (5 days).
So if you agree to buy the car send me your info to start the transaction
- First Name:______________________________
- Last Name:______________________________
- Shipping Address:_____________________
Thank you

Needless to say, I'm not going to proceed with this; there are too many red flags.

Lorenzo il Fortunato
Lorenzo il Fortunato is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 11 Old 06-03-2013, 06:32 PM
dirtbag's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Maserati Life Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Usually I'd be all over this, except I already sent a bunch of money to Nigeria for a guaranteed big return.

-= I'm a keychain salesman! =-
dirtbag is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-03-2013, 07:02 PM
Kip Jackson's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Maserati Life Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
It sounds WAY too good to be true. I'm surprised that a consignment shop would post it at such a low price.

2003 Spyder
2004 Lexus RX330
2009 Forester
2010 Tundra "The beast"
Kip Jackson is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-03-2013, 07:15 PM
TravisJ's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Maserati Life Posts: 5,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Of course, it has many red flags. Easiest way to find out for sure is to ask them to bring it to their nearest dealer for a PPI.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3


(SOLD) 2004 Coupe Cambiocorsa, Rosso Mondiale/Nero
Larini mufflers & X-pipe, Sport cats, FD sport springs, FD DBWEM, BMC air filter, FD brake pads
TravisJ is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-03-2013, 07:39 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Miromar Lakes, FL
Maserati Life Posts: 4,580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
michaeladler is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-04-2013, 02:58 AM
JetNC's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NC
Maserati Life Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to JetNC
^ X2

Sounds like a killer deal! I didn't even see a picture of a red flag...?? What are you guys talking about?

2005 GranSport
1991 300ZX TT
2001 Celica GTS
JetNC is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-04-2013, 03:22 AM
Super Moderator

mowlas's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London, UK
Maserati Life Posts: 2,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
The most obvious red flag is that the link to the Google checkout explanation page does not seem to be Google's official one as below:


There have many scams involving eBay where buyers are duped into using sites that look like eBay but aren't. I would worry about that... In fact if you go anywhere near this, I suspect the following will happen... read on...

Marcia's Story - Google Checkout Vehicle Sale Scam

2007 Quattroporte Sport GT Auto
mowlas is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-05-2013, 12:27 AM
Supporting Member

elambo's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Maserati Life Posts: 4,111
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
The price is way too low for an '08 with those miles, unless there's a problem.
elambo is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-05-2013, 02:19 AM
TBigs's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NW OH
Maserati Life Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Never buy a car that you can't independently verify actually exists. Period. As Travis points out, a PPI is an excellent way to do this.

PS - if this guy doesn't want his wife to get much money from this, why is the price so high? What he really needs is a sledge hammer!

1989 Zagato Spyder
1967 Mistral 4000
2006 GranSport (sold)
TBigs is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-06-2013, 02:06 PM
mosesbotbol's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston
Maserati Life Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Total scam

Former '85 Biturbo E owner 25+ years ago.

Current cars: 2019 Volvo XC60 T6 Inscription | 2017 Jaguar XE R-Sport | 2012 Aston Martin Rapide
mosesbotbol is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-10-2013, 05:36 AM
dpyang's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Maserati Life Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It is a scam.

Seems like you can get a 2008 Ferrari 599 GTB for $45000 from this company.


The address they listed:

2732 S Central Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90011

Check Google Map's satellite view.

Also, 860-440-6794 is not an LA area code.

Fone Finder USA - Canada phone lookup results
dpyang is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Maserati Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome